Six Paradise Jam Teams Earn Postseason Berths

📁 2016 Paradise Jam, 2017 Paradise Jam 🕔15.March 2017
Six Paradise Jam Teams Earn Postseason Berths

SHORELINE, Wash. – The 2016 Paradise Jam participants Florida State, Kansas State, Gonzaga, LSU, NC State, and Michigan all qualified for the postseason. Michigan was invited to the Women’s National Invitation Tournament (WNIT) and all other teams qualified for the NCAA Tournament.

Florida State was chosen as a No. 3 seed and will play Western Illinois, March 17. During Paradise Jam, Florida State went 3-0 and won the Reef Division. FSU’s Leticia Romero, was chosen as MVP and broke the tournament’s shooting average record, shooting 19-of-27 (.704) from the field.

Kansas State qualified as a No. 7 seed for the NCAA Tournament. The Wildcats will play Drake, March 18. K-State participated in the 2016 Paradise Jam and went 3-0 capturing the Island Division title. The Wildcat’s Kindred Wesemann was selected as the division’s MVP, averaging 20 points per game for the tournament.

In addition, Gonzaga was chosen as a No. 11 seed in the NCAA Tournament and will play Oklahoma, March 18. LSU was selected as a No. 8 seed and will play Cal, March 18. NC State, a No. 6 seed, will play Auburn on March 17. Michigan has accepted their invitation to the WNIT and will play Kent State on March 16.

The 2017 Paradise Jam field also features five teams that have qualified for postseason play. West Virginia earned a No. 6 seed in the NCAA Tournament, along with Syracuse as a No. 8 seed. Drexel, George Washington, and Virginia Tech, all earned bids to the WNIT.

The 2017 Paradise Jam schedule will be revealed in April, following the conclusion of the 2016-17 season. Travel packages will also be available for fans interested in traveling to the tournament. For more information visit

Similar Articles